Test Maturity Model in Software Testing

In this article, we are going to explore and discuss the Test Maturity Model (TMM), and we will also analyze the importance of TMM when it is applied to the software testing process.

  • What is Test Maturity Model (TMM)?
  • Need of Test Maturity Model (TMM)
  • Five Levels of Test Maturity Model (TMM).
  • Difference between Test Maturity Model (TMM) and Capability Maturity Model (CMM).
  • Test Maturity Model (TMM) Advantages.

What is Test Maturity Model (TMM)?

The test maturity model in software testing is a framework for evaluating the software testing process with the intention of improving it. It is based on the Capability Maturity Model (CMM). It was first developed by the Illinois Institute of Technology for the purpose of assessing test process maturity and providing maturity improvement goals.

Currently, the TMM has been replaced by the Test Maturity Model Integration (TMMI), a five-level model that provides a framework for measuring the maturity of the testing process.

We need to perform the testing phase of the software development life cycle very effectively as it plays an important role in the successful completion of any project.

The test maturity model is a process that has made the software testing lifecycle more resourceful. This is one such model that has a detailed model for test process improvement.

The main purpose of the test maturity model is to explore maturity and provide goals for enhancing the software testing process to meet growth. It can be used as a stand-alone model or complemented with any process improvement model.

Need of Test Maturity Model (TMM)

We need a maturity model for the following reasons:

  • It helps to better evaluate and enhance the quality of the testing process.
  • The quality of the software and the efficiency of the testing process increase manifold.
  • Since it is a test process model we can integrate it with other development models.
  • Since software testing is not defect-free, the TMMi model aims to reduce defects to the minimum possible.

Five Levels of Test Maturity Model (TMM)

Below are five different levels that help achieve test maturity:

Level 1: Initialization

  • At this level, we are able to run the software without interruption or disruption.
  • There are no clear-cut testing procedures.
  • Quality testing is not done before the software is released.
  • Ad hoc testing is done. (i.e. no checking process)

Level 2: Definition

  • This is the second level of the test maturity model.
  • At this level, requirements are defined
  • Test strategies, test plans, and test cases are created at this level.
  • All test cases are executed against requirements and hence testing is done.

Level 3: Integration

  • This is the third level of the test maturity model.
  • The testing process is integrated with the SDLC process and is performed independently after the development phase is complete.
  • Objects are tested to manage risks.

Level 4: Measurement and Management

  • This is the fourth level of the test maturity model.
  • All testing procedures become part of the software life cycle.
  • These include requirements analyses, design documentation, and code reviews.
  • Integration and unit testing are done here as part of coding.
  • All testing-related activities are measured here.

Level 5: Optimization

  • This test is the fifth level of the maturity model.
  • The testing process has been improved.
  • The evaluation process is verified and actions are taken for improvement.
  • Adequate measures have been taken to prevent defects and these improvements are taken to prevent recurrence in the future.
  • This phase is characterized by the use of various tools to test optimization.

Difference between Test Maturity Model (TMM) and Capability Maturity Model (CMM)

Test Maturity Model (TMM)

1. Test Maturity Model or TMM defines testing and is concerned with evaluating the quality of the software testing model.

2. It is used as a related framework with CMMi.

3. The entire focus of the TMMi framework is on processes that are applied to software testing to increase the quality and efficiency of the testing process.

Capability Maturity Model (CMM)

1. The Capability Maturity Model or CMM is used to consider the maturity of an organization’s software processes.

2. It has significantly controlled the software development process.

3. CMMi primarily focuses on software development practices.

Test Maturity Model (TMM) Advantages

1. Defect Prevention

  • As we know from the above explanation, TMM emphasizes the prevention of defects rather than the identification of defects by making the testing process a part of all phases of the software development life cycle.
  • It also ensures that as many defects as possible are identified and that the final product is mostly defect-free.

2. Organized

  • As we have already discussed the five levels of TMM and we can conclude that each level is well defined and has a specific objective to achieve, which makes the Test Maturity Model concrete. Creates a structured model with objectives.

3. Clear Requirements

  • When reviewing software requirements, designs, test plans, and test cases are evaluated against requirements. Or if the underlying test objective is more precise, we can get a more accurate test.

4. Quality Assurance

  • If we integrate testing with all phases of the software life cycle, we can achieve high product quality.
  • Analysis of the testing process will enhance the result, which ensures a good quality product.


As compared to CMM (Compatibility Maturity Model), TMM (Test Maturity Model) is an equally new topic, but the basic purpose of both models remains the same.

If we want to show how an organized set of levels leads to the higher quality expected output by increasing the process and efficiency of an organization.

For any organization, software maintenance is an expensive and time-consuming process when bugs are identified after project delivery.

So, while it is important to identify defects, it is also important to make minor mistakes throughout the software development phase. A standardized testing process like TMM can help us accomplish this.

As we understood from the discussion above, the Test Maturity Model is specifically designed to address testing and help the organization increase the maturity of its testing practices.

To ensure the enhancement of the testing process in the IT organization, the TMMi model was developed. And according to the business, these models can be generalized and applied for better results.

It is introduced because the previous model did not address the testing process.

Still, the TMMi model is designed to focus on planning and development, and the procedures of the CMMi model guide it.

Other Popular Articles

Comparison Testing in Software Testing

Leave a Comment